Sprites (not 3DSprites)& 3D(GL)at the same time,How?(SOLVE)

Post Reply
WhiteSkull
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:29 pm

Sprites (not 3DSprites)& 3D(GL)at the same time,How?(SOLVE)

Post by WhiteSkull » Sat Aug 22, 2009 4:06 pm

Hi again, i can not put on screen, Sprites and Graphics3D at the same time... I did not find any examples or thread in this forum that references this ...

However, I can put a BG with a 3D object, but what I'm looking for is not really what I want to put a marker of life ... and do not want to use the other screen

Help Help
Last edited by WhiteSkull on Sun Aug 23, 2009 7:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

WhiteSkull
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Sprites (not 3DSprites) & 3D (GL) at the same time, How?

Post by WhiteSkull » Sun Aug 23, 2009 7:03 pm

"Thank you all for your answers" ... is not possible to use Sprites and 3D at once on the same screen... Only thing...I solved using a QUAD with a bitmap, and I was fine, but after fight with all kinds of formulas :x

Discostew
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 7:24 pm

Re: Sprites (not 3DSprites)& 3D(GL)at the same time,How?(SOLVE)

Post by Discostew » Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:06 am

Sprites and 3D together? I don't see why not, since it would work in the same way as sprites and BGs. The way 3D is displayed is via BG0 as a layer. While I can't supply an example, you have the option of setting each VRAM bank to what you want, but you can't "mix" things like textures and sprites to the same bank. libnds's texture manager is set so that if you were to set any of the main banks as anything other than textures, it will skip those banks when dealing with texture loading. Also, libnds uses VRAM_E for texture palettes automatically, but you can use VRAM_F or VRAM_G for sprite palettes. I'm not sure if they can both be set for a combined 32KB under the same type like the main banks can.

It should be possible to use the individual 3D and sprite examples to form what you are looking for.

WhiteSkull
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Sprites (not 3DSprites)& 3D(GL)at the same time,How?(SOLVE)

Post by WhiteSkull » Tue Aug 25, 2009 6:52 pm

Yes! The theory is very nice ...Although it may well be, so that comment, i made it, put a "background" with "3D"...using "PAlib" combined with "libnds"... but anyway, thanks ... I got it with a "QUAD" and a texture...
Discostew wrote:It should be possible to use the individual 3D and sprite examples to form what you are looking for.
That means one thing ...
Do not know or have not done it.

If you like, you can try and then tell me, lucky :P

Discostew
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 7:24 pm

Re: Sprites (not 3DSprites)& 3D(GL)at the same time,How?(SOLVE)

Post by Discostew » Tue Aug 25, 2009 8:59 pm

PAlib? Hmmm. I don't know the situation with that, because I've never used it, nor do I know how it works. libnds is a different circumstance for me because I reference myself with the source, and either work around it, or don't use a section of it so I can have better control.

WhiteSkull
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Sprites (not 3DSprites)& 3D(GL)at the same time,How?(SOLVE)

Post by WhiteSkull » Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:15 am

I used "PALib" and "libnds", to use a BG in a 3D scene, because "PAlib simplifies some things made with" libnds. Sure you can do well with "libnds", because this is the engine of "PAlib"... 8)

I also had problems with "Stylus" not working well, and finally i chose to use "touchRead" think i should do everything with "libnds" to avoid problems... I don't know

StevenH
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:59 pm

Re: Sprites (not 3DSprites)& 3D(GL)at the same time,How?(SOLVE)

Post by StevenH » Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:02 am

WhiteSkull wrote:think i should do everything with "libnds" to avoid problems...
As is often said on gaming forums: Quoted for truth.

or just more simply QFT.

if your using palib, then your more than likely using an old version of devkitARM / libnds - which means your going to be missing out on a few of the more higher level API's that libnds has now.

Oh and you don't need to put quote marks around libnds, devkitARM, etc. as for PAlib I prefer the term **lib, as I always feel like I'm swearing when saying it for some reason...

WhiteSkull
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Sprites (not 3DSprites)& 3D(GL)at the same time,How?(SOLVE)

Post by WhiteSkull » Fri Aug 28, 2009 1:04 pm

Although at first i had used mathematical formulas, I could not put what I wanted:

Code: Select all

... 
... 
      // get angle in radians 
      angleH=atan2(camera.lookat.z-camera.z,camera.lookat.x -camera.x); 
      angleV=atan2(camera.lookat.z-camera.z,camera.lookat.y -camera.y); 
       
      quad.x=radio*cos(angleH); 
      quad.y=radio*cos(angleV); 
      // I dont know?¿ 
      //quad.z=sin(angleH); // work in horizontal 
      //quad.z=sin(angleV); // work in vertical 
... 
...
So I looked for a solution to this, and a friend, Ferran, who knows the 3D world, showed me a simple solution:

Code: Select all

...
...
while(1)
{
   // render scene

   // camera
   gluLookAt( pos.x, pos.y, pos.z, vista.x, vista.y, vista.z, 0.0, 1.0, 0.0);

   // reset the MODELVIEW matrix
   glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
   glLoadIdentity();

   // the QUAD in question

   glFlush(0);
}
...
and is exactly what I wanted, thank Ferran...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 1 guest