Background API bug?

Post Reply
Scribe
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:52 am

Background API bug?

Post by Scribe » Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:24 pm

Hi guys,

I've just been attempting to use 2D mode 5 on the sub video which should supply me with two ER backgrounds at location 2 and 3. My issue is that the map base which should be in 16k increments for a bit-mapped background is only moving up in the tiled 2k increment. As I'm limited to 32 bases I can't fit in my second background. Is this a bug?

Code: Select all

	int bg2 = bgInitSub( 2, BgType_Bmp16, BgSize_B16_256x256, 0, 0 );
	int bg3 = bgInitSub( 3, BgType_Bmp16, BgSize_B16_256x256, 8, 0 );

	for( int i = 0; i < 256*256; ++i )
	{
		bgGetMapPtr( bg2 )[i] = RGB15(0,31,0) | BIT(15);
		bgGetMapPtr( bg3 )[i] = RGB15(0,0,31) | BIT(15);
	}
Many thanks,
Alistair Lowe

zeromus
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:05 pm

Re: Background API bug?

Post by zeromus » Sat Dec 04, 2010 6:59 am

it is moving up in 16K increments. you are confused. I will leave it to you to determine exactly what made you think it is moving in 2K blocks, but in order to demonstrate how confused you are, I must call your attention to the fact that you are trying to create two 256x192x16bpp screens, each of which are 96KB, on the sub engine, which can't have more than 128KB of vram allocated to it. They're not going to both fit, regardless of how you setup the map and tile indexes.

Scribe
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:52 am

Re: Background API bug?

Post by Scribe » Sat Dec 04, 2010 5:16 pm

Arh should have known I'd overlooked something important.

cheers

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 3 guests