loading animated models

Post Reply
t377y000
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 3:14 am
Location: United States

loading animated models

Post by t377y000 » Tue May 31, 2011 7:43 pm

hi i have a question about loading animated models in devkitpro, i have used Nitro engine before & for animated models used the tools (MD2 2 NEA)that came with nitro engine, but now im wanting to use Devkitpro because nitro engine seems limited, (no sound) & some other things. :(

is there a way to do animated models in Devkit pro?
my code is very similar to the NeHe ones in examples. like lesson 7 & 8 for instance, how i load the models & textures.

also another quick question if i can, can anyone help me with collision? how does that work?
i have tried a custom collision engine i made before with nitro engine but not sure how to implement that into devkitpro.

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 2003
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: loading animated models

Post by WinterMute » Mon Jun 06, 2011 12:25 am

devkitPro is a vendor, we supply toolchains which can be used to write code for a number of game consoles, what you're actually asking about here is devkitARM.

NitroEngine is a 3D engine built on top of libnds so you don't have to stop using it, you can use maxmod or the basic libnds sound functions for audio and carry on using NitroEngine - assuming it still works with the latest tools and libraries. Right now we haven't got as far as writing model/texture loaders or really anything other than converting the NeHe tutorials to the GL like layer in libnds - lack of time, skills and resources for that job atm unfortunately.
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

t377y000
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 3:14 am
Location: United States

Re: loading animated models

Post by t377y000 » Sun Jun 12, 2011 2:12 am

WinterMute wrote:devkitPro is a vendor, we supply toolchains which can be used to write code for a number of game consoles, what you're actually asking about here is devkitARM.

NitroEngine is a 3D engine built on top of libnds so you don't have to stop using it, you can use maxmod or the basic libnds sound functions for audio and carry on using NitroEngine - assuming it still works with the latest tools and libraries. Right now we haven't got as far as writing model/texture loaders or really anything other than converting the NeHe tutorials to the GL like layer in libnds - lack of time, skills and resources for that job atm unfortunately.
hi thanks, i have actually tried maxmod before, im able to do it using straight libnds, but when i tried with nitroengine, couldnt seem to find out a way to get it to work. but seems i can find a way to do the project with straight libnds, i may just have to play with it alittle more tho.
the problem im having is i just haven't found a way to play a models animation during gameplay with stright libnds the same way i can with nitroengine, the other problem im having is making a 3rd person camera, the charecter follows the camera down the Xaxis but but when i rotate the camera down the Yaxis the character stays in that 1 sopt rotating around the camera instead of staying with the camera while its rotating.
yea is a huge project lol working on.
heres the nitro engine version. (Project Legends DS-DSi) 8) (has animations, but no sound tho)
https://sites.google.com/site/t377ygame ... s-dsi-news

i can upload the straight libnds version with sound if you wanna check it out.

eradsoft
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:34 pm
Location: Either side of South Bypass, Madrid, Spain

Re: loading animated models

Post by eradsoft » Sun Jun 12, 2011 8:59 am

I have taken a look at the project and for me it
looks very promising
I can't understand your first problem.
Regarding the second problem it perhaps has to do with the order of tranformations.
The camera transform can be viewed as translating and rotating the whole model
so that origin is in the camera and orientation is that of the camera. Usually
the camera transformation is issued before anything in the model so that all of
it is affected.
Since your character is parented to the camera, he does not suffer form the
whole world translation, but if you rotate the camera around him, he has to
be affected by the inverse rotation.
Hope this helps
--------------------------------
Welcome, my son, to the machine.
Pink Floyd.

t377y000
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 3:14 am
Location: United States

Re: loading animated models

Post by t377y000 » Sun Jun 12, 2011 9:19 am

eradsoft wrote:I have taken a look at the project and for me it
looks very promising
I can't understand your first problem.
Regarding the second problem it perhaps has to do with the order of tranformations.
The camera transform can be viewed as translating and rotating the whole model
so that origin is in the camera and orientation is that of the camera. Usually
the camera transformation is issued before anything in the model so that all of
it is affected.
Since your character is parented to the camera, he does not suffer form the
whole world translation, but if you rotate the camera around him, he has to
be affected by the inverse rotation.
Hope this helps
here i have uploaded the other version to the site, i made using straight libnds without nitro engine.
i used one of the nehe templates as a reference at 1st.
this versions the one im having the camera problem on.
https://sites.google.com/site/t377ygame ... ects=0&d=1

relminator
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:43 am

Re: loading animated models

Post by relminator » Mon Jun 13, 2011 2:28 am

Make yourself a camera class that transforms all your worldspace coords(level, characters). You actually need only 1 matrix to do that.

I hope you can read freebasic:

http://rel.phatcode.net/junk.php?id=43

There are 3 types of cameras in there. 1st, 3rd, and chase cam.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests