Page 2 of 2

Re: Configuring an emulator for the "run" command on PN.

Posted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 5:00 am
by Kronus980
zeromus wrote:It's trivial in that I might give that as the first homework project in "makefiles 101" class

i will admit the makefile is a bit weird and picking the right dependency for run was not entirely straightforward. but so what? you can guess targets until it works.
Yeah, for someone who never heard of a make file, yeah. I understand them, just not all of it. But yeah. Lol thanks.

EDIT: And it's the syntax of a complicated make file is what looks confusing.

Re: Configuring an emulator for the "run" command on PN.

Posted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 8:56 am
by Kronus980
Legolas wrote:

Code: Select all

run: $(BUILD)
	desmume $(OUTPUT).nds
^^^
TAB, not spaces :-)!!!!
Ok legolas, needs more helps :/ got an error that says:

> "make" run
make[1]: `/c/projects/projects.nds' is up to date.
desmume_dev /c/projects/projects.nds
"make": desmume_dev: Command not found
"make": *** [run] Error 127

> Process Exit Code: 2
> Time Taken: 00:00

Please help? Idk what happened o.o Lol.

Re: Configuring an emulator for the "run" command on PN.

Posted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:26 am
by zeromus
use file monitor or process monitor to learn where make is searching for desmume_dev. put desmume_dev there or alter the makefile to reference them where it already is.

Re: Configuring an emulator for the "run" command on PN.

Posted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 9:42 pm
by Kronus980
Ermmm.... I had it before by just putting it with the source. And I did something, either way it's still with the source. Any reason why?

Re: Configuring an emulator for the "run" command on PN.

Posted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:36 pm
by zeromus
You may find clues as to why if you use file monitor or process monitor to learn where make is searching for desmume_dev

Re: Configuring an emulator for the "run" command on PN.

Posted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 5:24 pm
by WinterMute
Not entirely sure that's helpful tbh. OK, (some) people learn better when guided rather than being spoon fed but some things are obvious to veterans and can seem rather esoteric to the inexperienced.

It should work with desmume-dev placed in the same directory as the Makefile, provided your run target is in the same section as the clean target. On the other hand you probably don't want to copy the emulator into every project you work on so it would be better to place it either in the system path or specify the full path.

What I tend to do is put the emulators into the devkitPro folder - the installer already places gcube into $(DEVKITPRO)/emulators/gcube and I'd like to do that with desmume as well eventually. If you create a desmume folder under emulators & copy the binary then you can use $(DEVKITPRO)/emulators/desmume/desmume_dev $(OUTPUT).nds as the command.

Re: Configuring an emulator for the "run" command on PN.

Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 11:44 pm
by Kronus980
Aah.. yeah, I put it into a bunch of different directories in that folder, Idk why It didn't work though. I had to go to the devKitPro main directory, make a folder called "portlibs", then "arm", then "bin", and put desmume_dev in the bin folder. I used process monitor, and that's where "make" was looking. Why, Idk :S