Page 1 of 1

CANNOT COMPILE ANY THING FOR WII! HELP!

Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 2:24 pm
by wiihacker12
ok so when i compile this* demo (And anything else) by useing this batch file

Code: Select all

@echo off
CD C:\devkitPro\devkitPPC\powerpc-gekko\bin\
gcc.exe demo.c
rem note demo.c and gcc.exe are in the SAME dir
pause>nul
 
I get this error: "gcc.exe: CreateProcess: No such file or directory"

can some one please help?

oh and here's the dump of my PC's env var's and my demo file's source code

dump of env var's

Code: Select all

ALLUSERSPROFILE=C:\Documents and Settings\All Users
APPDATA=C:\Documents and Settings\Da hacker\Application Data
CLIENTNAME=Console
CommonProgramFiles=C:\Program Files\Common Files
COMPUTERNAME=DA-EC5FC7F42DE5
ComSpec=C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
DEVKITARM=/c/devkitPro/devkitARM
DEVKITPPC=/c/devkitPro/devkitPPC
DEVKITPRO=/c/devkitPro
DEVKITPSP=/c/devkitPro/devkitPSP
FP_NO_HOST_CHECK=NO
HOMEDRIVE=C:
HOMEPATH=\Documents and Settings\Da hacker
LOGONSERVER=\\DA-EC5FC7F42DE5
NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS=2
OS=Windows_NT
Path=c:\devkitPro\msys\bin;C:\Ruby\bin;C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\System32\Wbem;C:\Program Files\Universal Extractor;C:\Program Files\Universal Extractor\bin;;C:\FPC\2.2.4\bin\i386-Win32
PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH;.RB;.RBW
PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE=x86
PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER=x86 Family 15 Model 104 Stepping 1, AuthenticAMD
PROCESSOR_LEVEL=15
PROCESSOR_REVISION=6801
ProgramFiles=C:\Program Files
PROMPT=$P$G
RUBYOPT=-rubygems
SESSIONNAME=Console
SYS=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32
SystemDrive=C:
SystemRoot=C:\WINDOWS
TEMP=C:\DOCUME~1\DAHACK~1\LOCALS~1\Temp
TMP=C:\DOCUME~1\DAHACK~1\LOCALS~1\Temp
USERDOMAIN=DA-EC5FC7F42DE5
USERNAME=Da hacker
USERPROFILE=C:\Documents and Settings\Da hacker
windir=C:\WINDOWS

*(this is) the demo file (made in C )

Code: Select all

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <gccore.h>
#include <wiiuse/wpad.h>

int main()
{
printf ("Press A to reboot!");
if (pressed & WPAD_BUTTON_A)
{

cout<<"Restarting!";
    
SYS_ResetSystem(SYS_RESTART,0,0);
}

}
Also i am i useing the right GCC for the Wii? or is the one I am useing in the batch file for the gamecube?! (as i want to do wii dev NOT gamecube DEV!)

And yeah i frogot to tell you what os this happens on:

this is happening on a WIN ( 32 ) XP laptop


Thanks!

Re: CANNOT COMPILE ANY THING FOR WII! HELP!

Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 6:37 pm
by weirdfox
gcc.exe: CreateProcess: No such file or directory
It means that GCC in not in your current path (it's totally normal and should stay that way).
GCC need a lot more information than just the file to compile, like the lib folder, the include folders, the defines, some tweaks and more.

Then, the result of GCC must be packed as a dol file to be usable on the wii.

All this work is done by make and you should use the Makefiles from the templates in the Wii examples package:
http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=273886
Also i am i useing the right GCC for the Wii? or is the one I am useing in the batch file for the gamecube?! (as i want to do wii dev NOT gamecube DEV!)
Don't worry, devktiPPC and libogc is the base for both the wii and gamecube.

Finally, to make sure you have all the required libs, you should use the devkitpro installer:
http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=348230

Re: CANNOT COMPILE ANY THING FOR WII! HELP!

Posted: Thu May 21, 2009 3:18 pm
by wiihacker12
umm fox, i used the batch file becuse The template MakeFile (when used with programmer's Note-Pad) just spits out errors and does not compile anything

Re: CANNOT COMPILE ANY THING FOR WII! HELP!

Posted: Thu May 21, 2009 4:30 pm
by weirdfox
Well, if the makefiles throw errors, it may seems that your devkitpro/devkitppc setup is not done correctly...
Can you compile in console ?

Re: CANNOT COMPILE ANY THING FOR WII! HELP!

Posted: Tue May 26, 2009 7:31 am
by Slappy
I had the same problem few weeks ago.
There were few topics about it somewhere on the forum

Devkit does not like paths in this style:

Code: Select all

C:\directory\subdirectory
Try to rewrite all paths to DevkitPro, DevkitPPC, msys ... like this:

Code: Select all

from:
c:\devkitPro\msys\bin; 
to:  
/c/devkitPro/msys/bin
And make sure you DO NOT use spaces in paths

Re: CANNOT COMPILE ANY THING FOR WII! HELP!

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 8:57 am
by steaky1212
I had a problem compiling with v1.5, do you have the same issue with 1.4.10?

Re: CANNOT COMPILE ANY THING FOR WII! HELP!

Posted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 6:54 pm
by wiihacker12
Did All That Still Crashes !
Even Ran The Updater And Used A New MakeFile And It Still Does Nothing!!!

Is It That Make Sucks!? :mrgreen: