Page 1 of 1

Using 3d and 2d together

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:54 pm
by dhjohn
I am rather new to ds programming, so please excuse me if this is a newbish question, but can you use both the ds's 2d and 3d graphics on the same screen? (On different backgrounds I assume)
I ask because from what I've looked at, the top most background is used for 3d, and I was wandering if 2d sprites can be drawn above the 3d background (for life bar, score counters, ect.), or if you have to use textured quads for it?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

Re: Using 3d and 2d together

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 3:31 am
by WinterMute
Yes, you just need to change the priorities on the 2D elements so they show above the 3D. There's a mixed 3D & 2D text example distributed with the toolchain

Re: Using 3d and 2d together

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 3:44 am
by dhjohn
Ah. Thank you.

Re: Using 3d and 2d together

Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:26 pm
by weirdfox
You can also stay in 3D mode and use it to render your 2D :
http://www.opengl.org/resources/faq/tec ... ations.htm

Look at the "9.030 How do I draw 2D controls over my 3D rendering?" section :)

The only tricky part is to disable the depth buffer...