Page 1 of 2
Simple program gone wrong... Problem with devkitpro compiler
Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:11 pm
by Roroy
Code: Select all
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <gccore.h>
#include <wiiuse/wpad.h>
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
static void *xfb = NULL;
static GXRModeObj *rmode = NULL;
int volume(int x, int y) {
int result;
result = x * y;
return result;
}
//---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
int main(int argc, char **argv) {
//---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
// Initialise the video system
VIDEO_Init();
// This function initialises the attached controllers
WPAD_Init();
// Obtain the preferred video mode from the system
// This will correspond to the settings in the Wii menu
rmode = VIDEO_GetPreferredMode(NULL);
// Allocate memory for the display in the uncached region
xfb = MEM_K0_TO_K1(SYS_AllocateFramebuffer(rmode));
// Initialise the console, required for printf
console_init(xfb,20,20,rmode->fbWidth,rmode->xfbHeight,rmode->fbWidth*VI_DISPLAY_PIX_SZ);
// Set up the video registers with the chosen mode
VIDEO_Configure(rmode);
// Tell the video hardware where our display memory is
VIDEO_SetNextFramebuffer(xfb);
// Make the display visible
VIDEO_SetBlack(FALSE);
// Flush the video register changes to the hardware
VIDEO_Flush();
// Wait for Video setup to complete
VIDEO_WaitVSync();
if(rmode->viTVMode&VI_NON_INTERLACE) VIDEO_WaitVSync();
// The console understands VT terminal escape codes
// This positions the cursor on row 2, column 0
// we can use variables for this with format codes too
// e.g. printf ("\x1b[%d;%dH", row, column );
printf("\x1b[2;0H");
printf(" Hello World!");
printf("\n This is the cheese!\n");
int test;
test = 0;
while (test < 5) {
printf("\n Test is less than 5");
test = test + 1;
}
printf("\n Loop has quit");
int precheck;
precheck = 1;
while(precheck == 1) {
WPAD_ScanPads();
u32 check = WPAD_ButtonsDown(0);
if(check & WPAD_BUTTON_A) {
printf("\n You pressed the right button!\n");
precheck = precheck + 1;
} else{
precheck = precheck + 0;
}
}
printf("\n Check complete. You pressed the A Button. \n");
cout << " This is a test for the cout function of C++" ;
int buttoncheck;
buttoncheck = 0;
while (buttoncheck == 0) {
WPAD_ScanPads();
u32 bp1 = WPAD_ButtonsDown(0);
if (bp1 & WPAD_BUTTON_MINUS ) {
int a = 5;
buttoncheck++;
}
}
int buttoncheck2;
buttoncheck2 = 0;
while (buttoncheck2 == 0) {
WPAD_ScanPads();
u32 bp2 = WPAD_ButtonsDown(0);
if (bp2 & WPAD_BUTTON_PLUS) {
int b;
b = 3;
buttoncheck2++;
}
}
cout << "The volume is " << volume(a, b) << "\n";
while(1) {
// Call WPAD_ScanPads each loop, this reads the latest controller states
WPAD_ScanPads();
// WPAD_ButtonsDown tells us which buttons were pressed in this loop
// this is a "one shot" state which will not fire again until the button has been released
u32 pressed = WPAD_ButtonsDown(0);
// We return to the launcher application via exit
if ( pressed & WPAD_BUTTON_HOME ) {
printf("\n\n Quitting presently\n\n\n");
exit(0);
}
if ( pressed & WPAD_BUTTON_B ) {
printf("\n You pushed the B button down.");
}
if ( pressed & WPAD_BUTTON_A) {
printf("\n You pressed A");
}
if (( pressed & WPAD_BUTTON_A) && ( pressed & WPAD_BUTTON_B)) {
printf("\n You pressed A and B simoultaneously!");
}
// Wait for the next frame
VIDEO_WaitVSync();
}
return 0;
}
I get the errors:
Code: Select all
c:/users/n**/desktop/devkitpro/examples/wii/template/source/template.cpp: In function 'int main(int, char**)':
c:/users/n**/desktop/devkitpro/examples/wii/template/source/template.cpp:128:8: warning: unused variable 'a' [-Wunused-variable]
c:/users/n**/desktop/devkitpro/examples/wii/template/source/template.cpp:148:8: warning: variable 'b' set but not used [-Wunused-but-set-variable]
c:/users/n**/desktop/devkitpro/examples/wii/template/source/template.cpp:160:37: error: 'a' was not declared in this scope
c:/users/n**/desktop/devkitpro/examples/wii/template/source/template.cpp:160:40: error: 'b' was not declared in this scope
It says that I have 2 unused variables (a and b) and that 2 variables (a and b) are not declared?
How is that even possible?
Please help and thanks in advance.
Re: Simple program gone wrong... Problem with devkitpro comp
Posted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:40 pm
by mtheall
Code: Select all
if (bp1 & WPAD_BUTTON_MINUS ) {
int a = 5; // you declare a new variable 'a'
buttoncheck++;
} // 'a' ceases to exist after this curly brace. it now goes "out of scope"
c:/users/n**/desktop/devkitpro/examples/wii/template/source/template.cpp:128:8: warning: unused variable 'a' [-Wunused-variable]
You declared 'a' but then never used it before it went out of scope. When you declare a variable inside '{}', then it only exists until you reach the '}', at which point it is destroyed.
Code: Select all
if (bp2 & WPAD_BUTTON_PLUS) {
int b; // you declare a new variable 'b'
b = 3; // now you assign ("set") 'b'
buttoncheck2++;
} // hey hey now it's gone and you set but never used it! 'b' is now "out of scope"
c:/users/n**/desktop/devkitpro/examples/wii/template/source/template.cpp:148:8: warning: variable 'b' set but not used [-Wunused-but-set-variable]
Look exactly the same problem happened here.
Code: Select all
cout << "The volume is " << volume(a, b) << "\n"; // hmm this 'a' and 'b' don't exist anymore
c:/users/n**/desktop/devkitpro/examples/wii/template/source/template.cpp:160:37: error: 'a' was not declared in this scope
c:/users/n**/desktop/devkitpro/examples/wii/template/source/template.cpp:160:40: error: 'b' was not declared in this scope
Now this is really a side-effect of what happened above. 'a' and 'b' are not in the current scope. This code may help illustrate the point:
Code: Select all
int a = 0;
int b = 1;
printf("a=%d, b=%d\n", a, b); // this will print "a=0, b=1"
{ // create a new scope. it can see outside, but nothing outside can see in
printf("a=%d, b=%d\n", a, b); // this will print "a=0, b=1"
int a = 2;
printf("a=%d, b=%d\n", a, b); // this will print "a=2, b=1"
} // destroy the scope. the new 'a' gets destroyed along with it
printf("a=%d, b=%d\n", a, b); // this will print "a=0, b=1"
Names are always resolved to the inner-most scope. Inside the '{}', the first print references the outside 'a' (=0) and 'b' (=1), since they are the innermost names that exist at the moment. The second print inside there is after a new 'a' (=2) is created. This name hides the outside 'a' (=0). The '}' ends the scope, so the 'a' (=2) is destroyed since the scope it resides in no longer exists. Now the outer 'a' (=0) is effectively unhidden.
I hope this helps you understand. This is not a problem with the toolchains, it is a problem with your knowledge of C/C++. When troubleshooting these kinds of issues, it's best to try it out in a different environment (for example, try writing a simple program that runs on your computer instead) that you think will exhibit the same problem. Then at least you can try to narrow down if it's a toolchain problem, or if there is just something you didn't know about C/C++.
Re: Simple program gone wrong... Problem with devkitpro comp
Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 2:26 am
by Roroy
Thankyou for your knowledge.
So is there a way to keep variables outside scopes and not let them be destroyed once the program gets to the "{"?
Re: Simple program gone wrong... Problem with devkitpro comp
Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 2:28 am
by mtheall
Of course! Just perform the declarations above (outside of) the if blocks.
Re: Simple program gone wrong... Problem with devkitpro comp
Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 2:31 am
by Roroy
I can do that but one of the parts to my program is:
Code: Select all
int buttoncheck;
buttoncheck = 0;
while (buttoncheck == 0) {
WPAD_ScanPads();
u32 bp1 = WPAD_ButtonsDown(0);
if (bp1 & WPAD_BUTTON_MINUS ) {
int a = 5;
buttoncheck++;
}
}
What I want to do is if they press the Minus button on the remote, then and only then, set the variable a to equal 5. If I declare it outside the if statement, it would set it to 5 regardless. I need to set it only if a specific condition is true.
Re: Simple program gone wrong... Problem with devkitpro comp
Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 2:35 am
by mtheall
Do int a = 0 on the outside. Then inside do a=5.
Re: Simple program gone wrong... Problem with devkitpro comp
Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 2:39 am
by Roroy
Thanks, that really helped out!
So why does doing this not work:
Code: Select all
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int main()
{
int test = 1;
if(test == 1) {
int a = 7;
}
cout << a << endl;
return 0;
}
Yet this does:
Code: Select all
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int main()
{
int test = 1;
int a = 0;
if(test == 1) {
a = 7;
}
cout << a << endl;
return 0;
}
???
Confusing to me.
Re: Simple program gone wrong... Problem with devkitpro comp
Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 3:01 am
by mtheall
See my first post. It explains it.
Re: Simple program gone wrong... Problem with devkitpro comp
Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 9:30 am
by Roroy
I've read it ten times and can't decipher what it says...
Re: Simple program gone wrong... Problem with devkitpro comp
Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:56 am
by elhobbs
You need to read up on "scope" and local variables in C. The { character creates a new scope. Variables created at in a scope go away when the matching } character is reached. These variables are called local variables.
I think you will find learning C/C++ by forum posting to be very frustrating. I do not think you will have a problem finding people willing to answer your questions. But, I think you will get frustrated and give up due to a lack of progress.
Also, homebrew is not a great place to learn C/C++. The lack of a modern IDE (possible to setup, but probably above your skill level at this point) and the lack of a debugger for hardware makes this hard. I think you would be better off to start in windows or Linux until you have a better understanding of the basics.