Cannot make hello_world: Error 2

support for the ARM toolchain
extremefun1
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:17 pm

Cannot make hello_world: Error 2

Post by extremefun1 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:29 pm

Hello,

I want to develop an application for the nintendo DS.
I installed devkit pro and .NET framework 2.0

Then i opened the project hello_world in devkitPro/examples/nds
I hit Alt+F1 or tools->make

And i get this error message:

Code: Select all

"make" 
/bin/sh: -c: line 0: unexpected EOF while looking for matching `''
/bin/sh: -c: line 1: syntax error: unexpected end of file
/bin/sh: -c: line 0: unexpected EOF while looking for matching `''
/bin/sh: -c: line 1: syntax error: unexpected end of file
"make": *** [build] Error 2
I can't find anything on it on google.
If someone could point met in the right direction?

Thanks in advance. 8)

StevenH
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:59 pm

Re: Cannot make hello_world: Error 2

Post by StevenH » Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:37 pm

What IDE are you using to compile the example?
What happens if you run make from the command prompt in the example folder devkitPro/examples/nds

What OS are you using? (I know it's windows, but what version of windows)
Why are you installing .NET framework 2? the DS does not have a .net runtime.

extremefun1
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: Cannot make hello_world: Error 2

Post by extremefun1 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:20 pm

IDE installed and working in: devkitPro
And i am running windows xp home (version 2002) Service pack 3

What do you mean:
"What happens if you run make from the command prompt in the example folder devkitPro/examples/nds"
Wich command prompt? The one coming up running MSys.exe in the devkitpro folder?

The command prompt first said:
jeffrey@COMPUTER~
~

There i typed: make c:\hello_world (i copied the hello_world map the the c:\)

And it said: "sh: c:make: command not found"

StevenH
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:59 pm

Re: Cannot make hello_world: Error 2

Post by StevenH » Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:49 pm

Do this:

1) Start the noraml windows command prompt (CMD.EXE)
2) type CD C:\devkitPro\examples\nds\hello_world (this is where I've got my devkitPro installed)
3) type make

Paste the output

devkitPro is NOT an IDE it's a tool provider, I need to know what the IDE is - Visual Studio, Programmers Notepad 2, or something else.

extremefun1
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: Cannot make hello_world: Error 2

Post by extremefun1 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:58 pm

IDE: programmer's notepad 2 (came with devkitPro)


i run cmd.exe...

There it says:
"E:\Documents and Settings\jeffrey>_" ( _ is the blinking little thing where i can input something)
So i type in: "CD D:\"
(Now it says: "E:\Documents and Settings\jeffrey>CD D:\" ) and then i press Enter.

And it doesn't change and gives no error message. It keeps saying:
"E:\Documents and Settings\jeffrey>_ "

If i fill in "CD D:\" the path should change to "D:\" right?

I can type: "CD.. "
Then it goes back all the way to just saying "E:\"
But i can't get it to say to "D:\" by typing "CD D:\"

(my windows is on "E:\" and my devkitPro is installed in "D:\")

StevenH
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:59 pm

Re: Cannot make hello_world: Error 2

Post by StevenH » Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:32 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock:

I've got no idea how you managed to get your windows install on E: (It's normally on C:)

Anyway...

D: changed to the D: drive
then type the CD command.

CD changed the directory of the specified drive to the path given, if no drive is specified it assumes the current drive.

extremefun1
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: Cannot make hello_world: Error 2

Post by extremefun1 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:50 pm

Well it's not that hard. Booting the computer from the windows xp cd (not the hard drive). The screen just asks you wich partition you want to format and install windows on. I selected the "E:/" partition.

"D: changed to the D: drive"?
What do you mean by that?

"CD changed the directory of the specified drive to the path given, if no drive is specified it assumes the current drive."
I know.
That is why i was baffled when i typed "CD D:\" and the path didn't change to "D:\.".
But if i type "CD.." then the path reduced all the way to "E:\". But i can't get to "D:\".

extremefun1
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: Cannot make hello_world: Error 2

Post by extremefun1 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:27 pm

SOLVED THE PROBLEM! :D.. .NDS file made.

I reinstalled devkitPro to E:\devKit pro

But there is something strange about all this. Namely:
During my problem i had devkitPro installed in a lot of submaps D:\map1\map2\devkitPro
Now strangely enough i could only install devkitpro in the root. E:\devkitPro or D:\devkitPro.
I could select a submap, but then i could not click the OK/NEXT button (stayed dark grey).
is that procedure in installing devkit pro?

So the problems and answers could be:
1. Faulty installation of devkitpro (simply install again)
2. Devkitpro has to be in the root. of E:\ and D:\ (just intall devkitpro in the root C:\devkitPro or D:\devkitPro)


If someone knows if answer 2 could even be possible, that would be nice. Because it could confuse other users with the same problem seeing this post.

User avatar
vuurrobin
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cannot make hello_world: Error 2

Post by vuurrobin » Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:15 pm

cd won't change the active station unless you use /D with it. so 'cd /D D:/' would have changed the station to D:/.

that you couldn't install devkitPro in a submap is strange. did any of the maps had a space ' ' in it? because devkitPro don't like spaces in its path.

StevenH
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:59 pm

Re: Cannot make hello_world: Error 2

Post by StevenH » Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:49 pm

vuurrobin wrote:cd won't change the active station unless you use /D with it. so 'cd /D D:/' would have changed the station to D:/.

that you couldn't install devkitPro in a submap is strange. did any of the maps had a space ' ' in it? because devkitPro don't like spaces in its path.
It was not a space vuurrobin, it was an '

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest