I have the same problem as him on a 64bit linux and no idea on how to solve it... does 32-64bit matter? Does anybody know how to correct this error?WinterMute wrote:Is this on 32bit or 64bit linux?
Cannot Make Hello World?
Re: Cannot Make Hello World?
Re: Cannot Make Hello World?
32-bit, on my laptop.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1986
- Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
- Location: UK
- Contact:
Re: Cannot Make Hello World?
I've checked the binaries again here locally and both 32 & 64bit builds are working fine for me. The ndstool binary is static so should, in theory run anywhere.
Which distro are you both on?
Best thing I can suggest is to try grabbing ndstool from SVN and building it yourself, see if that helps any.
svn co https://devkitpro.svn.sourceforge.net/s ... ds/ndstool
Which distro are you both on?
Best thing I can suggest is to try grabbing ndstool from SVN and building it yourself, see if that helps any.
svn co https://devkitpro.svn.sourceforge.net/s ... ds/ndstool
Re: Cannot Make Hello World?
i'm on 32-bit OpenSUSE 11.1
Linux linux-zja5 2.6.27.39-0.2-default #1 SMP 2009-11-23 12:57:38 +0100 i686i686 i386 GNU/Linux
This is the list of tarballs I've used for this toolchain:
./examples/nds-examples-20091201.tar.bz2
./dswifi-0.3.11.tar.bz2
./libfilesystem-0.9.4.tar.bz2
./devkitARM_r27-i686-linux.tar.bz2
./libnds/libnds-1.4.0.tar.bz2
./default_arm7-0.5.8.tar.bz2
./maxmod-gba-1.0.6.tar.bz2 (not yet extracted)
./libfat-nds-1.0.6.tar.bz2
./maxmod-nds-1.0.6.tar.bz2
Is it possible some of these versions are conflicting ?
Or maybe I missed something ?
Linux linux-zja5 2.6.27.39-0.2-default #1 SMP 2009-11-23 12:57:38 +0100 i686i686 i386 GNU/Linux
This is the list of tarballs I've used for this toolchain:
./examples/nds-examples-20091201.tar.bz2
./dswifi-0.3.11.tar.bz2
./libfilesystem-0.9.4.tar.bz2
./devkitARM_r27-i686-linux.tar.bz2
./libnds/libnds-1.4.0.tar.bz2
./default_arm7-0.5.8.tar.bz2
./maxmod-gba-1.0.6.tar.bz2 (not yet extracted)
./libfat-nds-1.0.6.tar.bz2
./maxmod-nds-1.0.6.tar.bz2
Is it possible some of these versions are conflicting ?
Or maybe I missed something ?
Re: Cannot Make Hello World?
sorry forum
it appears i made a booboo by extracting most of the files into the root devkitpro folder.
for everyone encountering this problem: EVERYTHING, except the actual devkitARM tarball, has to be extracted into the ./libnds folder (in my case /opt/devkitpro/libnds)
i need to learn to rtfm.
it appears i made a booboo by extracting most of the files into the root devkitpro folder.
for everyone encountering this problem: EVERYTHING, except the actual devkitARM tarball, has to be extracted into the ./libnds folder (in my case /opt/devkitpro/libnds)
i need to learn to rtfm.
Last edited by badsanta on Tue Dec 08, 2009 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1986
- Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
- Location: UK
- Contact:
Re: Cannot Make Hello World?
Oh, I see! I shall have to put some more informative error messages in ndstool - that was similar to a problem I had before release & made me jump to the wrong conclusions.
Really I should find the time to sort out an installer/updater app for linux & OSX as well. Glad you figured it out in the end.
Really I should find the time to sort out an installer/updater app for linux & OSX as well. Glad you figured it out in the end.
Re: Cannot Make Hello World?
I am using OS X.
When I try to compile the hello_world, I got the following errors:-
./Makefile: line 2: .SUFFIXES:: command not found
./Makefile: line 5: syntax error near unexpected token `$(strip $(DEVKITARM)),'
./Makefile: line 5: `ifeq ($(strip $(DEVKITARM)),)'
I looked at the Makefile, the first several lines are:-
#---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
.SUFFIXES:
#---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ifeq ($(strip $(DEVKITARM)),)
$(error "Please set DEVKITARM in your environment. export DEVKITARM=<path to>devkitARM")
endif
include $(DEVKITARM)/ds_rules
#---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# TARGET is the name of the output
# BUILD is the directory where object files & intermediate files will be placed
# SOURCES is a list of directories containing source code
# INCLUDES is a list of directories containing extra header files
#---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TARGET := $(shell basename $(CURDIR))
BUILD := build
SOURCES := gfx source data
INCLUDES := include build
Thanks!
Pat
When I try to compile the hello_world, I got the following errors:-
./Makefile: line 2: .SUFFIXES:: command not found
./Makefile: line 5: syntax error near unexpected token `$(strip $(DEVKITARM)),'
./Makefile: line 5: `ifeq ($(strip $(DEVKITARM)),)'
I looked at the Makefile, the first several lines are:-
#---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
.SUFFIXES:
#---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ifeq ($(strip $(DEVKITARM)),)
$(error "Please set DEVKITARM in your environment. export DEVKITARM=<path to>devkitARM")
endif
include $(DEVKITARM)/ds_rules
#---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# TARGET is the name of the output
# BUILD is the directory where object files & intermediate files will be placed
# SOURCES is a list of directories containing source code
# INCLUDES is a list of directories containing extra header files
#---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TARGET := $(shell basename $(CURDIR))
BUILD := build
SOURCES := gfx source data
INCLUDES := include build
Thanks!
Pat
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1986
- Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
- Location: UK
- Contact:
Re: Cannot Make Hello World?
You don't invoke the Makefile, you run make in the same directory as the Makefile. It's not an executable script.
Re: Cannot Make Hello World?
I receive the same errors as the OP when I try to compile the hello_world example with Programmer's Notepad. All I've done is a full install of devkitPro and followed this FAQ. Running "make" from the command line doesn't work either. It just says something along the line "make is not a command, program or batch file".
I made sure there's no space in any of the directory names so we can rule that out. My OS is Windows 7.
Code: Select all
> "make"
> Failed to create process: The system cannot find the file specified.
> Process Exit Code: 0
> Time Taken: 00:00
Re: Cannot Make Hello World?
I use win 7.. no problem with OS I think
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 4 guests