Cannot Make Hello World?

support for the ARM toolchain
brianfast
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 8:29 pm

Cannot Make Hello World?

Post by brianfast » Thu Mar 26, 2009 8:33 pm

I am eager to learn how to develop for the NDS, however it has been very frustrating so far. It seems there is little effort to document even the simplest things. I downloaded devkitpro and selected everything in the install. Then I opened up programmers notepad and followed this guide

http://www.devkitpro.org/faq/how-do-i-u ... notepad-2/

then I opened up an example project and tried to "make" it didn't work. I don't know what I am doing wrong

but the error message (useless) is

> "make"

> Failed to create process: The system cannot find the file specified.


If anyone has a link to a better hello world guide preferably with devc++ it would be greatly appreciated. Or a solution to make programmers notepad work would be swell too.

marlin
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 3:13 pm

Re: Cannot Make Hello World?

Post by marlin » Sat Apr 18, 2009 3:18 pm

Maybe the make.exe cannot find the folder "source",or there isnt any .c/.cpp file in this folder.
Make sure that the makefile exits.

Kamen
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:44 pm

Re: Cannot Make Hello World?

Post by Kamen » Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:52 pm

I am in the same boat. makefile exists, main.cpp in source folder exists, and devkitpro/msys/bin is in the system path. This problem happens no matter what I try to make, none of the examples compile and nothing I write does either. Major frustration here when the blasted toolset doesnt work off a clean install.

It would be nice to be able to see what the "make" tool in programmers notepad is actually trying to do, my guess is its sending the wrong path to make.

User avatar
vuurrobin
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cannot Make Hello World?

Post by vuurrobin » Tue Sep 29, 2009 7:47 am

have you tried executing make from the command prompt (or a batch file)?

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1986
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Cannot Make Hello World?

Post by WinterMute » Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:04 am

It's difficult to say what's going on here without further information.

First, try opening an msys bash shell ( should be the msys link in the devkitPro start menu item), cd to an example ( cd /c/devkitPro/examples/nds/templates/arm9 ) then type make there. If you get an error then please copy the complete output here. This might be a bit easier if you type make 2>&1 tee make.txt then you can open make.txt in any text editor. It would also be useful to see your environment setup - env > env.txt will get you the required output.
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

Alriightyman
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:24 am

Re: Cannot Make Hello World?

Post by Alriightyman » Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:34 am

Sorry for the bump. I am having a similar Problem. No matter how I try to build a simple example I get the same error:

Code: Select all

------ Build started: Project: NintendoDS1, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
Performing Makefile project actions
template.c
arm-eabi-gcc -MMD -MP -MF /c/Users/Ryan/Documents/VisualStudio2008/Projects/NintendoDS1/build/template.d -g -Wall -O2 -march=armv5te -mtune=arm946e-s -fomit-frame-pointer -ffast-math -mthumb -mthumb-interwork -iquote /c/Users/Ryan/Documents/VisualStudio2008/Projects/NintendoDS1/include -I/c/devkitPro/libnds/include -I/c/Users/Ryan/Documents/VisualStudio2008/Projects/NintendoDS1/build -DARM9 -c /c/Users/Ryan/Documents/VisualStudio2008/Projects/NintendoDS1/source/template.c -o template.o
arm-eabi-gcc.exe: CreateProcess: No such file or directory
make[1]: *** [template.o] Error 1
make: *** [build] Error 2
Build log was saved at "file://c:\Users\Ryan\Documents\VisualStudio2008\Projects\NintendoDS1\Debug\BuildLog.htm"
NintendoDS1 - 0 error(s), 0 warning(s)
========== Build: 1 succeeded, 0 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========
and my enviroment:

Code: Select all

HOMEPATH=\
APPDATA=C:\Users\Ryan\AppData\Roaming
DEVKITPPC=/c/devkitPro/devkitPPC
DEVKITARM=/c/devkitPro/devkitARM
XNAGSV3=C:\Program Files\Microsoft XNA\XNA Game Studio\v3.0\
DXSDK_DIR=C:\Program Files\Microsoft DirectX SDK (August 2009)\
TERM=cygwin
PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER=x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 1, AuthenticAMD
WINDIR=C:\Windows
PUBLIC=C:\Users\Public
OLDPWD=/c/devkitPro/examples/nds
PROGRAMDATA=C:\ProgramData
USERDOMAIN=OldCrap
OS=Windows_NT
ALLUSERSPROFILE=C:\ProgramData
VS90COMNTOOLS=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Common7\Tools\
TEMP=/tmp
COMMONPROGRAMFILES=C:\Program Files\Common Files
DEVKITPRO=/c/devkitPro
XNAGSSHARED=C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\XNA\
USERNAME=Ryan
DEVKITPSP=/c/devkitPro/devkitPSP
PROCESSOR_LEVEL=6
PATH=.:/usr/local/bin:/mingw/bin:/bin:/bin:/c/Windows/system32:/c/Windows:/c/Windows/System32/Wbem:/c/Windows/System32/WindowsPowerShell/v1.0/:/c/Program Files/Microsoft SQL Server/90/Tools/binn/:/d/GBA Programming/devkitadv/bin
PSMODULEPATH=C:\Windows\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Modules\
GCC_EXEC_PREFIX=d:/GBA Programming/devkitadv/lib/gcc-lib/
MSYSCON=sh.exe
FP_NO_HOST_CHECK=NO
PWD=/c/devkitPro/examples/nds/templates/arm9
SYSTEMDRIVE=C:
USERPROFILE=C:\Users\Ryan
PS1=\[\033]0;$MSYSTEM:\w\007
\033[32m\]\u@\h \[\033[33m\w\033[0m\]
$ 
LOGONSERVER=\\OLDCRAP
PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE=x86
LOCALAPPDATA=C:\Users\Ryan\AppData\Local
!C:=c:\devkitPro\msys\bin
PAPATH=/C/devkitPro/PAlib/lib
HOME=/home/Ryan
SHLVL=1
PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH;.MSC
HOMEDRIVE=C:
PROMPT=$P$G
MSYSTEM=MINGW32
COMSPEC=C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe
LOGNAME=Ryan
TMP=/tmp
SYSTEMROOT=C:\Windows
PROCESSOR_REVISION=0801
MAKE_MODE=unix
PROGRAMFILES=C:\Program Files
NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS=1
SESSIONNAME=Console
HISTFILE=/home/Ryan/.bash_history
COMPUTERNAME=OLDCRAP
_=/bin/env
Any idea why this isn't working? Thanks

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1986
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Cannot Make Hello World?

Post by WinterMute » Tue Oct 27, 2009 9:35 am

You just need to remove the GCC_EXEC_PREFIX variable from your environment. That's something that should never be a permanent part of your environment.
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

Alriightyman
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:24 am

Re: Cannot Make Hello World?

Post by Alriightyman » Tue Oct 27, 2009 3:45 pm

Got rid of it, works like a charm! Thank you much!!!!!!

badsanta
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 8:47 am

Re: Cannot Make Hello World?

Post by badsanta » Sun Dec 06, 2009 9:01 am

hi forum.

i'm pretty good with both c and c++, have been writing code for several years with gnu compilers.

however im only a day old in this devkitarm department, and am an absolute noob. im running opensuse 11.1, and have the toolchain working, at least it seems to be.

it wont compile the hello_world.c. this is the debug error it spits out:
badsanta@linux-zja5:/opt/devkitpro/examples/hello_world> make
linking hello_world.elf
built ... hello_world.arm9
Nintendo DS rom tool 1.46 - Dec 2 2009
by Rafael Vuijk, Dave Murphy, Alexei Karpenko
failed to open input file
make[1]: *** [/opt/devkitpro/examples/hello_world/hello_world.nds] Error 1
make: *** [build] Error 2
badsanta@linux-zja5:/opt/devkitpro/examples/hello_world>
the only 2 lines in my .bashrc are the environment variables told by the instructions:
export DEVKITPRO=/opt/devkitpro
export DEVKITARM=$DEVKITPRO/devkitARM
it spits out a non working .nds file.
wat do?

WinterMute
Site Admin
Posts: 1986
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Cannot Make Hello World?

Post by WinterMute » Sun Dec 06, 2009 2:10 pm

Is this on 32bit or 64bit linux?
Help keep devkitPro toolchains free, Donate today

Personal Blog

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests