Make problem

support for the ARM toolchain
dude182
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:18 am

Make problem

Post by dude182 » Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:22 am

If I open up the Hello_World example and run make, it succesfully makes the .nds file.

But if I copy the source code and try to make my own project with the source code I get this error:

"make": *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.

> Process Exit Code: 2
> Time Taken: 00:01


Im using the Windows installer with Programmers Notepad.

User avatar
vuurrobin
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Make problem

Post by vuurrobin » Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:47 am

did you also copied the makefile with it?

dude182
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:18 am

Re: Make problem

Post by dude182 » Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:46 pm

When I add the makefile, I end up getting an empty bin folder. where I saved my project.

I am copying the makefile that is 2 KB, located inside exaples\nds.

dude182
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:18 am

Re: Make problem

Post by dude182 » Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:43 pm

Is there a specific place where I should be saving my projects?

If I copy the entire Hello_world file onto my desktop, then open the project from there, then press Tools>Make, I get this error:

> "make"
basename: extra operand `Settings/HP_Administrator/Desktop/hello_world'
Try `basename --help' for more information.
make[1]: /c/Documents: No such file or directory
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `/c/Documents'. Stop.
"make": *** [build] Error 2

> Process Exit Code: 2
> Time Taken: 00:01

Ive been trying to save my projects in a folder on my desktop.

User avatar
vuurrobin
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Make problem

Post by vuurrobin » Tue Mar 16, 2010 7:47 pm

it shouldn't matter where you put the project, as long as the path doesn't have any spaces or other special characters (like apostrofes) in it.

check both the path of your project and the path of your devkitPro instalation to see if there are spaces etc in it.

dude182
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:18 am

Re: Make problem

Post by dude182 » Tue Mar 16, 2010 10:22 pm

Nothing wrong with the paths.

I think I almost got it going, Im getting this error:

> "make"
linking new.elf
c:/devkitpro/devkitarm/bin/../lib/gcc/arm-eabi/4.4.3/../../../../arm-eabi/lib/thumb/ds_arm9_crt0.o: In function `CIDLoop':
(.init+0x218): undefined reference to `main'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [/c/devkitPro/new/new.elf] Error 1
"make": *** [build] Error 2

> Process Exit Code: 2
> Time Taken: 00:01

StevenH
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:59 pm

Re: Make problem

Post by StevenH » Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:50 am

dude182 wrote:Nothing wrong with the paths.

I think I almost got it going, Im getting this error:

> "make"
linking new.elf
c:/devkitpro/devkitarm/bin/../lib/gcc/arm-eabi/4.4.3/../../../../arm-eabi/lib/thumb/ds_arm9_crt0.o: In function `CIDLoop':
(.init+0x218): undefined reference to `main'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [/c/devkitPro/new/new.elf] Error 1
"make": *** [build] Error 2

> Process Exit Code: 2
> Time Taken: 00:01
dude182 wrote:Is there a specific place where I should be saving my projects?

If I copy the entire Hello_world file onto my desktop, then open the project from there, then press Tools>Make, I get this error:

> "make"
basename: extra operand `Settings/HP_Administrator/Desktop/hello_world'
Try `basename --help' for more information.
make[1]: /c/Documents: No such file or directory
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `/c/Documents'. Stop.
"make": *** [build] Error 2

> Process Exit Code: 2
> Time Taken: 00:01

Ive been trying to save my projects in a folder on my desktop.
Path to your desktop:

C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator\Desktop\hello_world

There's a space in there...

Make a folder in the root of C: called work, and work from there...

Never work on a project from your desktop

dude182
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:18 am

Re: Make problem

Post by dude182 » Wed Mar 17, 2010 3:05 am

Well I gave up on the Programmers Notepad, and Im going to use Visual C++, which Im more comfortable with.

I found that Nintendo DS Project wizard and installed it. I select DS arm9 and i build it. I get this error:

1>Performing Makefile project actions
1>Project : error PRJ0003 : Error spawning 'cmd.exe'.
1>Build log was saved at "file://c:\devkitPro\NintendoDS3\Debug\BuildLog.htm"
1>NintendoDS3 - 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

Build log:

Creating temporary file "C:\DOCUME~1\HP_ADM~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\BAT00000150363072.bat" with contents
[
@echo off

make -r 2>&1 | sed -e 's/\(.[a-zA-Z]\+\):\([0-9]\+\):/\1(\2):/

if errorlevel 1 goto VCReportError

goto VCEnd

:VCReportError

echo Project : error PRJ0019: A tool returned an error code from "Performing Makefile project actions"

exit 1

:VCEnd
]
Creating command line "C:\DOCUME~1\HP_ADM~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\BAT00000150363072.bat"


I honestly thought this would work, I dont know what is going on.

User avatar
vuurrobin
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Make problem

Post by vuurrobin » Wed Mar 17, 2010 9:33 am

have you tried running make from the command line? that way you can see if the problem lies with your devkitPro instalation or with your IDE.

@StevenH, the error above your post doesn't have anything to do with spaces in the path.

also, am I the only one that doesn't have spaces in his desktop path?

StevenH
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:59 pm

Re: Make problem

Post by StevenH » Wed Mar 17, 2010 1:40 pm

vuurrobin wrote:have you tried running make from the command line? that way you can see if the problem lies with your devkitPro instalation or with your IDE.

@StevenH, the error above your post doesn't have anything to do with spaces in the path.

also, am I the only one that doesn't have spaces in his desktop path?
I've got no spaces in my desktop path, but thats cos I'm on windows 7

It does not matter if the error is about spaces or not, the path has a space in it which causes problems with the toolchain as spaces can cause problems with software unless you correctly quote the inputs, but it then becomes a nightmare as the entire makefile structure would need to be checked and changed...

As soon as I spotted that "basename: extra operand `Settings/HP_Administrator/Desktop/hello_world'" line on the initial output my spidey sences started to ring...

dude182 is on Windows XP, using the path I put above to his desktop. The fact that both Visual Studio and PN2 failed with the exact same issue (I know I've done this on my windows XP test box) is indicative of the toolchains unrolling the 8.3 format into the full space added lines and causing errors.

In short, never work from your desktop, it clutters up your display and it just looks horrible, also DON'T USE PATHS WITH SPACES in them....

edit:
Also there's a couple of special characters that causes problems with compiling, but I can not remember them at the moment....

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest