Make (to create build) error
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:49 pm
Make (to create build) error
Hello,
I'm not sure whether this question is related here. Anyway, I'm trying to compile and build something for a GBA hack. When I opened up CMD and typed in Make. The follow appeared and this error message appeared.
Can anyone help me?
I'm not sure whether this question is related here. Anyway, I'm trying to compile and build something for a GBA hack. When I opened up CMD and typed in Make. The follow appeared and this error message appeared.
Can anyone help me?
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1986
- Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
- Location: UK
- Contact:
Re: Make (to create build) error
Looks like you might be missing grit.
How did you install everything? Is whatever you're building available on github or something?
How did you install everything? Is whatever you're building available on github or something?
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:49 pm
Re: Make (to create build) error
This is what I'm trying to install:WinterMute wrote:Looks like you might be missing grit.
How did you install everything? Is whatever you're building available on github or something?
https://github.com/Touched/MegaEvolution
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1986
- Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
- Location: UK
- Contact:
Re: Make (to create build) error
Replace https://github.com/Touched/MegaEvolutio ... file#L1-L6 with this
Code: Select all
include $(DEVKITPRO)/devkitARM/base_tools
export LD := $(PREFIX)ld
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:49 pm
Re: Make (to create build) error
I've replaced it with exactly that, but now this appearsWinterMute wrote:Replace https://github.com/Touched/MegaEvolutio ... file#L1-L6 with this
Code: Select all
include $(DEVKITPRO)/devkitARM/base_tools export LD := $(PREFIX)ld
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1986
- Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
- Location: UK
- Contact:
Re: Make (to create build) error
What's the output of these commands?
Code: Select all
which make
make --version
echo %PATH%
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:49 pm
Re: Make (to create build) error
Sorry, what do you mean?WinterMute wrote:What's the output of these commands?Code: Select all
which make make --version echo %PATH%
If it means anything, I've installed the latest Devprokit in the root of the C: Drive (C:\devprokit)
I downloaded the GitHub and placed it into the folder "mega" in the root of my desktop. I then created a folder within that folder labelled "build".
I downloaded GnuWin Make 3.81 and installed it into my computer. I've copied the content inside the "Make 3.81's BIN" folder into the "Mega" folder.
I opened the "CMD" in the folder and then typed in "make" and that error appeared :/
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1986
- Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
- Location: UK
- Contact:
Re: Make (to create build) error
I have no idea what this means. Did you use the installer as specified here https://devkitpro.org/wiki/Getting_Startedrenewreborn wrote: Sorry, what do you mean?
If it means anything, I've installed the latest Devprokit in the root of the C: Drive (C:\devprokit)
It's really best not to place these things on your desktop. Spaces in the paths can cause issues.I downloaded the GitHub and placed it into the folder "mega" in the root of my desktop. I then created a folder within that folder labelled "build".
This was a terrible idea. You should uninstall GnuWin Make 3.81 at the very least and probably delete the Mega folder then start again fresh.I downloaded GnuWin Make 3.81 and installed it into my computer. I've copied the content inside the "Make 3.81's BIN" folder into the "Mega" folder.
the devkitPro installer sets up msys2 which contains all the unix tools you need. Please don't use other unix tools simultaneously, they will cause problems.
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2018 4:49 pm
Re: Make (to create build) error
Okay. How do I build it using Msys2? Like what are the commands?WinterMute wrote:I have no idea what this means. Did you use the installer as specified here https://devkitpro.org/wiki/Getting_Startedrenewreborn wrote: Sorry, what do you mean?
If it means anything, I've installed the latest Devprokit in the root of the C: Drive (C:\devprokit)
It's really best not to place these things on your desktop. Spaces in the paths can cause issues.I downloaded the GitHub and placed it into the folder "mega" in the root of my desktop. I then created a folder within that folder labelled "build".
This was a terrible idea. You should uninstall GnuWin Make 3.81 at the very least and probably delete the Mega folder then start again fresh.I downloaded GnuWin Make 3.81 and installed it into my computer. I've copied the content inside the "Make 3.81's BIN" folder into the "Mega" folder.
the devkitPro installer sets up msys2 which contains all the unix tools you need. Please don't use other unix tools simultaneously, they will cause problems.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1986
- Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:21 am
- Location: UK
- Contact:
Re: Make (to create build) error
renewreborn wrote: Okay. How do I build it using Msys2? Like what are the commands?
Code: Select all
make
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests